Accessibility plugin compatibility

Hi.
I noticed there are some old, closed threads on accessibility, nothing recent and fewer topics than I would have anticipated. Because BB does not have full accessibility functionality built in, the option is to go for a plugin (we are being asked to do this by a client). My question is, has anyone installed any of the accessibility plugins out there and had a successful BB co-existence? And if so, your thoughts on whatever plugin you opted for?
Thanks so much.

Hi there,

I work as a freelancer with a small agency, and we have begun focusing on making our projects as accessible as possible. Unfortunately, there is no drop in solution that will cover accessibility for your site. In fact, there are many voices in the community who strongly oppose a plugin solution. You can read the details here: Background: Should I use an accessibility overlay? - The A11Y Project

My personal solution, which I’m just getting started with, is to learn how to improve accessibility with proper coding and modifying existing themes and plugins to be more supportive.

I purchased a subscription to AXE by Deque, which has a free and premium version. It’s an addon for Chrome that will scan a web page and call out potential accessibility issues, and show detailed information about how to fix them. Very helpful!

I also recently purchased a subscription to Deque University’s Web Accessibility course package, which I’m hoping will teach me to address web accessibility early in the build process and include the time and resources required in my initial project bids.

I hope this is helpful, and I hope others will chime in on this thread with how they are addressing web accessibility.

1 Like