Contional Logic referer not recognised

Hi, i am a bit of a newbie so apologies if this is basic… but would appreciate some pointers on areas to understand better

i have created conditional logic on the referer so that text module only appears if come from specific page.

it is tempremental though. on my android phone and in edge browser on desktop, it doesn’t work. in chrome in desktop, whilst logged into wp-admin, it does work.

if you want to see for yourself the conditional message is “you came here from /job-functions/reserving-actuary/”

Route to see item:
start on: https://cjpaine.co.uk/job-functions/reserving-actuary/
then click link to for “ORSA”

Route to NOT see item:
start on https://cjpaine.co.uk/149-2/
then click link to for “ORSA”

the conditional logic is
referer contains /job-functions/reserving-actuary/

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

You want the page to be dynamic, but its being cached twice

1 Like

thank you for your response …

i have been reading for several hours to increase knowledge on this and have detailed some steps below in case it is of use to anyone.

this article helped me understand cahing:

I don’t know whether the issue is server side caching or client side caching that is causing the problem.

i also wasn’t sure what “caching twice” problem mentioned earlier is referring to exactly. (server AND client caching perhaps?)

the following article explained to me in simple terms why page caching is not good for dynamic pages on wordpress sites:

i therefore installed the W3 total cache plugin and diabled page cache and purged the cache. butthis didn’t solve the problem. (i assume this is server side stuff)

i therefore went to browser cache and disabled that and purged the cache. (i assume this is client side stuff). the browser cache settings look far more complicated with many more options.