Controlling button styles

Hi, I’m a theme developer that’s just getting started with using Beaver Builder. So far I’m impressed. Nice work, guys.

One concern, however, is how to control the button styles that my users select. Buttons are one of the most important elements for bringing consistency to your site. Currently your Button module allows the user to select from a virtually unlimited array of colors, icons, gradients, etc. The possibility they will go outside a theme’s guardrails is therefore great.

Do you have any recommendations on how to best control this in BB? Some kind of way to limit the Button module building tool to a list of presets would be ideal.

I see you already have feature request in the works about adding preset colors so maybe this kind of functionality is coming. But any thoughts on how I can best address this issue today would be most welcome.

Thanks.

Hey Ryan,

Thanks for getting in touch and welcome to the BB community! For now, you can do the manual way of placing the hex values of the colors you are using on a notepad perhaps then just copy paste it whenever you need to use it.

Another method you can use is via custom CSS. You can place a class on any row/column/module that corresponds to a certain styling, e.g., the class blue-bg gives a blue background, black-border gives a black border and etc.

Until the color presets are implemented, those are the only methods I can think of to make sure the same colors are being used all throughout the site.

Hope this helps!

Ben

Ok thanks. It sounds like I’ll need to wait until the preset colors are available to start being able to put controls on what styles get used. That still doesn’t solve for how to put controls on other design considerations like gradients, icons, rounded corners, etc. But at least it’ll be a start.

Hey Ryan,