Displaying search button when inserting Search widget in Template

Hello,

I’ve recently started using Wordpress to build a new website. I have no existing coding knowledge so have decided to use Beaver Builder. To give greater flexibility in designing the header and footer of my pages I’ve disabled the header and footer from my theme (Beaver Builder Theme) by going to Customizer > Header > Header Layout > Layout set to None. I am now in the process of building a Template will act as the header and footer of all of my pages:

http://www.holivity.co.uk/fl-builder-template/template-main/

I have inserted a search box at the top-middle by using Wordpress Widgets >> Search. I want the search function to have a “Search” button after the text box, but can’t for the life of my figure out how to include this.

I’ve tried the recommendations from some other forum posts but these have not worked, I think because I’m trying to edit the search box as a widget inserted into a template page, not in the theme itself.

Other forum posts suggest I need to find and remove this:

.aside #searchsubmit {
display:none;
}

but I’ve Inspected my code and don’t find this anywhere.

I assume there should by an easy way to fix this but I’ve been looking around at the different options and playing around for ages and still stuck. Please help!

Thanks,
Luke

Hey Luke,

Welcome to the BB forums! :slight_smile:

Unfortunately, the Search widget that comes with the BB theme doesn’t have a search button. We can add one but then we’ll have to change a few of the theme’s codes. Let us know if you want to go through with that.

Ben

Thanks. Yes that would be good - please let me know what I need to do. Luke

Hey Luke,

Okay, so you’ll need to use the child theme as we’re going to be making changes to the theme files. Just download it from your Accounts page, install it to your site, and activate it.