Here’s a feature request + bug found with global saved items usage when you drop one in the layout.
1 - Global saved items opening the settings UI
When you drop a global saved item in the layout, its settings panel opens to validate or cancel the dropping.
But it also gives a direct access to settings editing, which i consider pretty useless as global means to me the item has been built to be used as is, plus a bit dangerous when the user is not aware of what a global saved item is and how these modifications will affects all saved item occurrences on the site.
I’d clearly prefer a simple “OK / Cancel” JS alert to finish the dropping and keep the editing access in the backend or by clicking the item’s link in the content frontend panel.
2 - Restricted access to global saved items editing not respected
- In BB backend settings, restrict frontend Global rows and modules editing to the Admin role only
- Log as another role which can edit modules existing in the layout or drop new modules, but can’t modify global saved modules
- Drop a global saved module in the layout and… modify its settings: here’s the bug
- Once in the layout you can’t even repair your error by editing it cause you don’t have the permission
Thanks for checking please.