So, the license key is only required to update BB, correct? It’s not needed to enable any functionality…
So, I can remove the key when I am done with a site and let the client buy their own key if they want to update the site. And nothing will stop working…?
That is correct! The license also entitles you access to this support forums as well.
Thanks, just want clients to buy their own key instead of using mine perpetually.
I’d also just like to add, the license key will be hidden from users, they can’t copy it and use it elsewhere, if that’s what you’re concerned about.
What if they clone a site, rather than just copying the plugin?
I’ve spoken to our developers and they have informed me that if the license is saved in the field, then it will be copied along with everything else.
More to what Danny said above, we’re actually working on a feature that allows you to manage the licenses remotely on your Accounts page. Unfortunately, I don’t have a concrete timeline as to when it will be ready though.